The Open-Air Museum Maribo:
The Open-Air Museum
1st May - 30th September + week 42 (the autumn holiday)
Adults: 30 crowns
Children (under 18): free
Groups with an educational purpose: free
Since 1927, tourists and the local inhabitants of Maribo have
been able to enjoy a visit to the country's third oldest open-air
museum. This little gem has enchanted visitors for over 80 years
with its picturesque setting in the beautiful natural wooded
surroundings of Maribo Lakes Nature Park. Shortly after it opened in
1927, the Open-Air Museum was already giving rise to enthusiastic
praise. One newspaper wrote "â€¦an enchanting little village from
olden days lies there now graceful and smiling and in a framework so
lovely, it could not be better."
The everyday life and conditions of ordinary people are made visible in a sensual and easily interpreted way at the Open-Air Museum. The museum is not encumbered with long, wordy descriptions, but with small snapshots that illustrate life in the country in the 19th century. The original houses and artefacts give free play to one's senses and imagination to visualise how it must have been to live in the cold, low-ceilinged rooms, the common sleeping arrangements, the hard physical work, the stink of the dung heap, undrinkable water and what otherwise was part of life in "the good old days".
The purpose of the museum was to establish a framework for local building traditions that otherwise would have been lost. Today it is possible to see how our ancestors lived on the land by journeying back in time to the different houses collected within the museum. The museum contains various angles on life in a rural village as the 13 houses have very diverse characters with different functions. Therefore they give insight into local building customs and the variations in buildings that could be found in the country from the close of the 17th century to the beginning of the 20th. The houses tell what everyday life held for the farmer, smallholder, agricultural labourer, curate and schoolmaster, whilst the smithy, fire engine shed and the rope works show more of the tradesman's side of life.
Rose gardens, kitchen gardens, herb beds and areas with, for example, hops and willow have been laid out amongst the old houses. True to tradition, there is also a pond in "the little village" with a diversity of fauna in the summer months. The museum also strives to have living creatures in the form of hens, geese and ducks that live at the museum during most of the year. On special occasions, the stables are filled with other domestic animals so that suddenly there is an absolutely authentic scent of cow, pig, horse and goat.
At the entrance, the ticket office is housed in the Forestry Manager's tall building. The museum shop that sells books, different museum copies, old fashioned toys, rock candy, boiled sweets and basket work is there as well. One can also buy coffee/tea, cakes, ices and soft drinks. Dogs may be taken if on a lead.
The museum is open from 1st May - 30th September + week 42 (the autumn holiday). Different big and small events are held spread over the year, so keep an eye on the museum's calendar for further information.