Lime-washing, Half-timbering and Thatching Day
Since Frilandsmuseet (The Open-Air Museum) opened in 1927, the museum has had a vast building volume to maintain. This maintenance is a huge task as the museum wants to do things right in keeping with the old techniques. In this way, the museum aims to give visitors the best possible experience and understanding of the 19th century and its building style. In other words, the museum tries not to comprise when the old houses are repaired and restored.
The majority of the houses at The Open-Air Museum have three things in common: They are made of three types of material: wood, straw and clay, which is typical for the majority of buildings in 19th century rural communities. This means houses that are made in half-timbering, which are lime-washed and have straw or thatched roofs.
There is always plenty of work to do on The Open-Air Museum's old houses, and people often contact us, asking for advice on maintenance of their old half-timbered houses. This is why the museum has decided to hold this special day that focuses precisely on lime-washing, half-timbering and thatching. On this day, everybody has the opportunity to turn up and ask questions of the professional carpenter, thatcher and bricklayer, who offer good advice and demonstrate the old lime-washing, half-timbering and thatching techniques - techniques that are still used today.
Focusing on the primary building components that The Open-Air Museum's houses contain, the museum is able to provide insight into how the museum is maintained and the amount of work the old houses require.
Next Lime-washing, Half-timbering and Thatching Day